Whatever Wednesday: Storm Large

I don’t really watch reality television. I like my television like I like my books: fantastical. Which is why I watch RuPaul’s Drag Race. It’s about as far from reality as you can get. That, and Drag Queens are epic. I also don’t have cable, so I watch it all on logotv.com. I’ve seen all of seasons 2 and 3, and I’m starting to watch season 1 while waiting for Drag U to start.

Don’t judge me.

Like any show with a cast of characters, I have my favorites. Season 2 gave me Raven, Jujubee, and Pandora Boxx. Recently, FrightDyke, my super-awesome girlfriend (go read her blog! It’s hilarious, even if you don’t like horror movies. It’s in the links!), got to see Ms. Boxx perform. She did this:

She sent me this exact link, and I laughed for thirty minutes, and sung the song for about a week…month…ok, I’m still singing it, which is why, yesterday, I went searching for this video again, in an attempt to knock that song out of my head. Instead, I found the original video:

I went: She’s pretty! Then I went: She’s funny! and lampooning the Sarah McLaughlin types! The song ended, and I happened to see this:

I admit, I clicked mostly because of the title. Around this time, Fright Dyke was shaking her head at me. BUT I WAS NOT DETERRED! I saw this:

and went: SHE SOUNDS LIKE DANZIG, HOLY CRAP!

I listen to so many kinds of music, I give my iPod whiplash. But, the first musical genre that I listened to of my own free will (read: without my parent’s knowledge) was Metal. Hard Rock. Classic Rock. I have a special place in my heart for Hair Metal. In High School, it’s all I would listen to. I’ve since branched out, musically. I hesitate to say that I listen to Punk, because I feel that true punk music, like hardcorepunk-fuck-this-rah music, isn’t recorded, and was all played over 20 years ago. But I listen to a lot that’s as close as we can get to that today, and a lot that’s inspired by that, and whatever I can find from then that happened to get recorded, anyway. I like female vocalists (Pink. The Jett. Gaga. Surprised? really?) mostly because it’s easier for me to sing along. I have certain rap/hip-hop/r&b songs (C-Lo Green, the Sucker Punch soundtrack, Snoop Dogg and Katy Perry. Dick in a Box) and pop/disco songs, (…Katy Perry. Ke$ha. Cascasa. The Gaga) mostly for when I’m walking/running. I have a lot of comedy (The Lonely Island. The Ballad of Bilbo Baggins), and a lot of folk-inspired stuff (Indigo Girls, again, a shocker. Mumford and Sons).

Storm Lodge? Has what I love about ALL OF THEM. Her music rocks (check out her links, all the covers she’s done? classic rock). Female vocalist. There’s a truly punk anger to her performance. It’s high energy. It’s funny. And that throaty alto? Folksy-in-the-best-way.

FrightDyke watched with me, and says that I now have a new friend. I think she’s right.

I just… I love this. I love her.

She has an amazing voice, a truly awesome stage presence, and after this interview on Ellen:

I like her. She’s no-nonsense, thoughtful, smart, and practical. Particularly about shoes. Also HAT and VEST.

I’ll be buying the album.

And, apparently, she got her start on a reality TV show, Rockstar Supernova. I guess they are good for some things.

Which reminds me–

So, I was reading this story…

A Fan.

Posted on June 8, 2011, in Media, Music, Whatever Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi! I’m a fan of Storm Large. I saw her on Rock Star: Supernova on CBS at a friend’s urging and have been actively seeking out her performances, and active on her bulletin board at stormlarge.com.

    Stpr, is gracious and professional about her performance, even though the character on stage is mostly just who she is, just a little exaggerated for effect. The directness she presents is the expression of the cranky, beautiful, serious woman she is inside, and has been her whole life, even when she’s struggled and looked for some other way to be. Her autobiographical play Crazy Enough is about her growing up in the shadow of a mentally ill Mother and her own fears that she would also go insane. That soundtrack is very worth getting/

    The woman’s sensibilities about music aren’t 100% mine, but the overlap is close and she can hold her own with the best female vocalists. Her career is self-directed and self-made, she is an independent artist through and through. She keeps getting better and better, learning more and more how to harness the energy and the honesty into different creative performance media.

    If you ever get the chance to see her perform live, you will understand even more deeply than the media displays… she’s all that.

    Cheers,
    James
    (‘Om’ on Storm’s Ballzboard)

Leave a Reply

